Sun, 03 Jul 2022

Erik Lamela Beats Iran's Taremi to Win Puskas Award

18 Jan 2022, 20:37 GMT+10

TEHRAN (Tasnim) - Erik Lamela defeated Mehdi Taremi and Patrick Schick to win the goal of the year.

- Sports news -

Now at Sevilla, Lamela won Puskas Award for his 'rabona' goal during Tottenham's north London derby clash against Arsenal last season.

Porto forward Taremi's strike against Chelsea in the Champions League in April came second in the list.

Patrik Schick's long-range goal for Czech Republic against Scotland during Euro 2020 finished in third place.

The Puskas Award, established by FIFA in 2009, is an annual honor given to the player "judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant goal, regardless of championship, gender or nationality and scored without the result of luck or a mistake and in support of fair play."

More Scotland News

Access More

Sign up for Scotland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!